SALab – Buy Lamp amplifiers
SALab – Buy Lamp amplifiers SALab – Buy Lamp amplifiers

Where to buy

SALON AV: S.A.LAB LILT. BUDGET AMPLIFIER LINEUP

Reviewer: Nikolay Yefremov

December 25, 2017

(RUS):

Alexey Syomin’s Laboratory is famous for its giant no-nonsense and very expensive amplifiers. But recently a new budget Lilt series was launched aiming for a wider audiophile audience. There are three models in the series — a Phono amp, a pre amp and a 2x12W power amp. Let’s try to find out how Mr. Syomin managed on a sum of $1500 per device without obvious compromises and how each device sounds.

THE RHYTHM OF LIFE

Judging by the first ‘Russian High End’ shows of 20 years past the majority of Russian designs was tube amplifiers assembled from components bought at the nearest garage sale. I remember Mr. Gubin’s single-enders based on 300B tubes produced in Saratov being sold for only $250 but nobody wanted them even for this scanty sum. The reason was obvious: people knew that a decent amp, especially a tube amp can’t be that cheap. As time passed the majority of designers refused to compete with imported audio at the meagre cost of their devices and started investing into quality components. The prices naturally surged up, but the amps began to look and sound differently. This situation affected the demand for such devices immediately.

 

Meanwhile S.A.Lab’s approach to the problem was fundamentally different. From the very start Alexey Syomin, company’s founder and chief designer, adhered to the following principle: “sound is everything, expense is nothing”. That is why he became famous for no-compromise devices that still comprise the lion’s share of his company’s assortment.

 

But for the 15th anniversary of his company he decided to make a real present for music lovers by offering them a series of components actually on a cost recovery basis. The new lineup was called Lilt (the Irish for ‘rhythm’). It consists of three models — Lilt Phono, Lilt Preamplifier and Lilt Power. All of them have the same size, design and price — about $1500 each. Despite the fact that by S.A.Lab standards this is an unprecedentedly low price tag, it’ quite obvious that these amps don’t belong to the entry level: their schematic is based on solutions introduced in flagship Samson and Hercules devices. The workmanship is solid, components and materials used are of high quality, schematic is a proper one let alone stylish design.

The schematic’ ‘properness’ in my opinion is the use of kenotrone rectifiers in pre amps and Schottky diodes wherever high current is needed — as well as an oversized power supply.

 

To create standard RIAA correction curve Lilt Phono uses passive RC-circuits. Input stages are based on 12AX7 double triode tube with high amplification and low noise; in the output stage a pair of 12AY7s is used (all amplifying tubes are manufactured by Electro-Harmonix). 5AY3 is responsible for anode voltage supply. The announced non-weighed signal/noise ratio is –80 dB — a record figure for a tube design. Transformer’s power-to-size ratio is 160 W.

 

Phono amp has a pair of inputs with nominal sensitivity of 5 mV i.e. it works with MM cartridge; to work with MC cartridge a step-up transformer is required. Such a device can be found among S.A.Lab accessories.

Lilt Preamplifier belongs to the third generation of pre amps. It’s designed for working with three line sources which can be switched by means of a round handle on its front panel. Volume is controlled not by a potentiometer but by an array of high-class resistors commutated by miniature relays. And this is not the only solution unique to budget audio. In the output stages EL84 tubes work as triodes coupled to linear step-down transformers. Thus a very low output impedance (20 Ω) and high load capacity is achieved therefore the amp becomes ‘immune’ to either length of cables or to their physical parameters namely capacitance, resistivity and inductance. That’s exactly why similar solutions are widely used in recording studios.

 

Lilt Preamplifier has an energy-intensive power supply; the output transformers’ size is similar to those installed in the power amp belonging to the same lineup.

Lilt Power is also equipped with volume control and can be used as a standalone device but only with a single source because the input switching function is absent. While working together with a pre amp Direct mode must be on for the signal to bypass the volume control. All these features provide for easy changes in system’s structure and architecture.

 

The output power of 2x12 W is ensured by push-pull stages based on 6V6 pentodes switched as triodes. For alignment with 4/8 Ω speakers separate binding posts are installed. Input and driver stages utilize a pair of 12AX7 double triodes. Power supply transformer’s power-to-size ratio is 250 W; output transformers are wound by hand on a metallic tape core made from high quality electric grade sheet.

Faceplates of all Lilt components are made from corian, an artificial marble with beautiful texture but unlike Samson the decorative plate is black stone not wood. The customer can order the faceplate in virtually any color combination. Chassis and top covers are steel. Each device weighs about 10 kilos.

 

Our listening test was conducted in the order mentioned above, i.e. starting from the Phono amp. We connected Lilt Phono to Michell Engineering Orbe SE LP Player turntable with Ortofon Cadenza Black МС-cartridge via S.A.Lab step-up transformer. Thus the system used three interconnects but noise was completely absent from the speakers. At the maximum volume level one could hear a noise but it was almost unnoticeable and truly ‘white’ — smooth, without poisonous coloring or rustling. I lowered the tonearm and set the comfortable volume… And immediately senses the substantial overload capacity of the Phono amp: loud high frequency passages were translated without either distortion or ‘electric dirt’ due to clipping of the passing signal. The surface noises of the record were not emphasized. Middle range was linear and comfortable but bass seemed a little heavy and too relaxed.

Then we added Lilt Preamplifier. Here was the proof that this system couldn’t get by without a pre amp: the energy level increased and the overall sound became somehow livelier with leaner bass. Transformer linear output is a great thing after all. So is the relay volume control. No matter what volume level you choose the stage changes neither its shape nor the focusing of virtual sound sources. Listening to a big orchestra you don’t notice any muddle; the instruments are properly placed, each one’s part is sharply outlined.

 

The addition of a CD player brought transparency to the overall sound, agility to the bass and spatiality to the stage. Technically the picture became clearer and more precise although less involving emotionally. But the most important thing in this case was that the tract properly interpreted the difference between not only some very high-class sources, but also analog and digital signal.

 

Of course all things mentioned above took place with the direct participation of power amp and all the estimations may be attributed to it too. With its 2x12 W Lilt Power didn’t fold in front of the substantial Wilson Audio Sasha II speakers and ensured both rich low end and sharp dynamic contrasts. I can’t call it ‘Sturm und Drang’ but it was convincing enough and without noticeable problems. With a lighter — perhaps some vintage — speakers the result would surely be even more impressive. But the main thing was the feeling that these devices had been made not just for sound reproduction but actually for playing music. Therefore the task of finding suitable source and speakers won’t be too difficult.

-

-

-

-

THE MUSIC

 

Vynil

 

Frank Zappa & Mothers, «Roxy & Elsewere». 2LP, DiscReet Music, 1974

Rachmaninoff, Syphony No2. The Philadelphia Orchestra. RCA Red Seal, 1975

B52’s, «Whammy!». Island, 1983

 

CD

Dali, «In Admiration of Music. Volume 4». Dali CD, 2015

«Tutti! Orchestral Sampler». 24 bit HDCD Reference Recordings, 1997.

Jean Sibelius «Violin Concerto». Anne-Sophie Mutter & Staatskapelle Dresden. Deutsche Grammophon, 1995

 

THE SYSTEM

 

Michell Engineering Orbe SE LP Player turntable, SME IV tonearm, Ortofon Cadenza Black cartridge

Step-up МС transformer S.A.Lab Stepup SE

SIM Audio Moon 260D CD Player

Wilson Audio Sasha II speakers

IsoTek EVO3 Power conditioner

Cables:

Phono: Ortofon 6NX TSW-1010

Interconnects: Burson Audio Cable+ Pro

Acoustic cables: S.A.Lab

Power cables: IsoTek EVO3 Syncro

 

S.A.Lab Lilt

 

Manufacrurer: S.A.Lab (Russia)

 

salaboratory.com

Lilt Phono

Signal/noise ratio (unweighed): –80 dB || Sensitivity: 5 mV || THD (1 kHz): 0,1 % || Size: 340 х 152 х 405 mm || Weigh: 10 kilos || Price: $1500

Lilt Preamplifier

Input impedance 20 Ω || THD: 0,05 % || Size: 340 х 152 х 405 mm || Weigh: 9,5 кг || Price: $1500

Lilt Power

Output power (4 Ω): 12 W || КНИ (20 Hz — 20 kHz, 2 V): 0,1 % || Signal/noise ratio: 98 dB || Input sensitivity: 1 V || Input impedance 50 Ω || Size: 340 х 152 х 405 mm|| Weigh: 10 kilos|| Price: $1500

Lilt Phono

Lilt Preamplifier

Lilt Power

SALab – Buy Lamp amplifiers
SALab – Buy Lamp amplifiers SALab – Buy Lamp amplifiers

All rights reserved

While on our site you agree with the:

Privacy Policy

Sound laboratory   |   www.salaboratory.com

Where to buy

FAQ

© Copyright by Gotomedia

Phono preamplifiers

Transformers

Где купить?

SALON AV: S.A.LAB LILT. БЮДЖЕТНАЯ ЛИНЕЙКА УСИЛИТЕЛЕЙ

Автор: Николай ЕФРЕМОВ

Декабрь 25, 2017

(ENG):

Лаборатория Алексея Сёмина всегда славилась гигантскими, бескомпромиссными и очень недешёвыми усилителями. Но недавно с расчётом на более широкие круги меломанов были разработаны три модели бюджетной серии Lilt – фонокорректор, предусилитель и оконечник мощностью 2 х 12 Вт. Попробуем разобраться, как удалось уложиться в 90 тысяч рублей за аппарат без бросающейся в глаза экономии, и как всё это звучит.

РИТМ ЖИЗНИ

Если судить по первым выставкам «Российский Хай Энд», то лет 20 назад большинство отечественных разработок приходилось на ламповые усилители, собранные из деталей с ближайшего радиорынка. Помнится, за 250 долларов предлагались однотактники Губина на саратовских 300B, но даже за эти деньги их не очень-то покупали. Причина проста – люди понимали, что хороший усилитель, тем более ламповый, столько стоить не может. Со временем большинство разработчиков отказалось от попыток конкурировать с импортом за счёт мизерной себестоимости своих изделий, и начали вкладываться в качественные комплектующих. Цены, естественно, выросли, но и техника стала выглядеть и звучать по-другому, что не замедлило сказаться на спросе.

 

А вот у компании S.A.Lab подход был диаметрально противоположный – Алексей Сёмин, её основатель и главный конструктор, изначально придерживался принципа «звук – главное, цена не имеет значения». Потому и получил известность за счёт бескомпромиссных конструкций, которые и до сих пор составляют львиную долю его ассортимента.

 

Но к 15-летнему юбилею компании было решено сделать подарок меломанам, предложив серию компонентов фактически по их себестоимости. В новой линейке, получившей название Lilt (в переводе с ирландского – «Ритм») три модели – Lilt Phono, Lilt Preamplifier и Lilt Power. Все они имеют одинаковые габариты, дизайн и цену – 90 тысяч рублей. Несмотря на то, что для S.A.Lab это беспрецедентно низкий ценник, но усилители явно не относятся к категории entry level – в них применены решения, отработанные на флагманских аппаратах Samson и Hercules. У них основательная конструкция, качественные компоненты и материалы, правильная схемотехника и фирменный стиль, разработанный итальянским дизайнером Франко Поли.

 

Правильная схемотехника, на мой взгляд, заключается в использовании кенотронных выпрямителей в предварительных усилителях и диодов Шоттки там, где нужны большие токи, а также солидный запас по мощности источников питания.

В Lilt Phono для формирования стандартной характеристики RIAA используются пассивные RC-цепочки. Входные каскады построены на двойном триоде 12AX7 с большим усилением и малыми шумами, а на выходе – пара 12AY7 (все усилительные лампы — Electro-Harmonix). Заявленное невзвешенное отношение сигнал/шум -80 дБ, а это рекордный показатель для ламповой схемы. За подачу анодного напряжения отвечает кенотрон 5AY3. Габаритная мощность трансформатора — 160 Вт.

 

В корректоре два входа с номинальной чувствительностью 5 мВ, т.е. для MM-звукоснимателей, для работы с MC-головками нужно использовать повышающий трансформатор, например, из ассортимента той же S.A.Lab.

Lilt Preamplifier относится к третьему поколению предусилителей. Он рассчитан на подключение трёх линейных источников, которые коммутируются круглой ручкой на лицевой панели. Громкость регулируется не потенциометром, а с помощью набора качественных резисторов, переключаемых миниатюрными реле. И это не единственное решение, уникальное для бюджетной техники: в выходных каскадах предусилителя лампы EL84 в триодном режиме работают на линейные понижающие трансформаторы. При этом получается очень низкое выходное сопротивление (20 Ом) и высокая нагрузочная способность, что делает предусилитель не чувствительным ни к длине кабелей, ни к их физическим параметрам – ёмкости, сопротивлению и индуктивности. Именно поэтому подобные решения широко используются в студиях звукозаписи.

 

В Lilt Preamplifier энергоемкий блок питания, а выходные трансформаторы по габаритам аналогичны тем, что установлены в усилителе мощности этой же серии.

У Lilt Power тоже есть регулятор громкости, поэтому он может использоваться самостоятельно, как интегральный усилитель, но только с одним источником – коммутатор входов у него отсутствует. При совместной работе с предом нужно включить режим Direct, тогда сигнал пойдёт в обход регулятора. Все эти варианты предусмотрены для возможности изменения состава и архитектуры системы.

 

Выходная мощность 2 х 12 Вт обеспечивается двухтактными каскадами на пентодах 6V6 в триодном включении. Для согласования с акустикой, имеющей сопротивление 4 и 8 Ом имеются отдельные клеммы. Входной и драйверный каскады построены на паре двойных триодов 12AX7. Габаритная мощность трансформатора питания 250 Вт, выходные трансформаторы намотаны вручную на ленточных сердечниках из качественной электротехнической стали.

Лицевые панели всех компонентов Lilt выполнены из кориана – искусственного камня с красивой текстурой, но, в отличие от «Самсона», декоративная планка не деревянная, а из чёрного камня. Цветовые сочетания могут быть любые по желанию заказчика. Шасси и верхние крышки стальные. Масса каждого аппарата порядка 10 кг.

 

Слушать начинаем по порядку, с фонокорректора. Подключаем к Lilt Phono проигрыватель Michell Engineering Orbe SE с МС-головкой Ortofon Cadenza Black через повышающий трансформатор S.A. Lab. Соответственно, в системе задействовано три межблочных кабеля, но фона в колонках нет вообще. При максимальной громкости слышен шум, но он не слишком заметный и по-настоящему «белый» — ровный, без ядовитой подкраски и шорохов. Опускаю иглу, устанавливаю комфортную громкость. Чувствуется солидная перегрузочная способность корректора – на громких высокочастотных пассажах нет ни искажений, ни грязи, свидетельствующей об ограничении сигнала в тракте. Поверхностные шумы пластинки не акцентированы. Середина линейная, комфортная, а вот бас показался немного тяжеловатым, с ленцой.

Теперь включаем в тракт Lilt Preamplifier. Вот и доказательство того, что предусилитель в системе всё-таки нужен: возросла энергетика, чётче оформился бас, звучание в целом как-то оживилось. Трансформаторный линейный выход всё-таки великая вещь. И регулятор громкости на реле – тоже. Вне зависимости от выбранного уровня прослушивания сцена не меняет ни общих очертаний, ни фокусировки мнимых источников. На больших составах нет каши, инструменты чётко разделены, партию каждого из них легко проследить.

 

С CD-проигрывателем звучание стало немного прозрачнее, бас – подвижнее, пространство открылось в трёх измерениях. Формально картина вроде бы чётче и точнее,

 

хотя эмоционально цепляет не так сильно. И в данном случае важно то, что тракт правильно интерпретирует разницу не между источниками очень высокого класса, а между цифрой и аналогом.

 

Разумеется, всё описанное выше происходило при непосредственном участии усилителя мощности, и все оценки можно отнести и на его счёт. При своих 2 х 12 Вт Lilt Power не спасовал перед основательными Wilson Audio Sasha II, выдавая богатый низ и резкие динамические контрасты. Не скажу, что прямо ураган и огонь, но достаточно убедительно и без заметных проблем с передачей атаки. С более лёгкой, возможно, винтажной акустикой результат будет ещё более впечатляющим. Но самое главное, чувствуется, что все эти три аппарата делались не для звука, а для музыки. А значит, подобрать подходящий источник и колонки будет не так уж несложно.

-

-

-

-

МУЗЫКА

 

Винил

 

Frank Zappa & Mothers, «Roxy & Elsewere». 2LP, DiscReet Music, 1974

Rachmaninoff, Syphony No2. The Philadelphia Orchestra. RCA Red Seal, 1975

B52’s, «Whammy!». Island, 1983

 

CD

 

Dali, «In Admiration of Music. Volume 4». Dali CD, 2015

«Tutti! Orchestral Sampler». 24 bit HDCD Reference Recordings, 1997.

Jean Sibelius «Violin Concerto». Anne-Sophie Mutter & Staatskapelle Dresden. Deutsche Grammophon, 1995

 

СИСТЕМА

 

Проигрыватель винила Michell Engineering Orbe SE, тонарм SME IV, головка Ortofon Cadenza Black

Повышающий МС-трансформатор S.A. Lab Stepup SE

CD-проигрыватель SIM Audio Moon 260D

Акустические системы Wilson Audio Sasha II

Сетевой кондиционер IsoTek EVO3

Кабели:

фоно Ortofon 6NX TSW-1010

межблочные Burson Audio Cable+ Pro

акустические S.A. Lab

сетевые IsoTek EVO3 Syncro

 

 

S.A.Lab Lilt

 

Производитель: S.A.Lab (Россия)

 

salaboratory.com

Lilt Phono

Отношение сигнал/шум (невзвешенное): -80 дБ || Чувствительность: 5 мВ || КНИ (1 кГц): 0,1% || Габариты: 340 х 152 х 405 мм || Масса: 10 кг || Цена: 90 000 руб.

Lilt Preamplifier

Выходное сопротивление 20 Ом || КНИ: 0,05% || Габариты: 340 х 152 х 405мм || Масса: 9,5 кг || Цена: 90 000 руб.

Lilt Power

Выходная мощность (4 Ом): 12 Вт || КНИ (20 Гц — 20 кГц, 2 В): 0,1% || Отношение сигнал/шум: 98 дБ || Входная чувствительность: 1 В || Входное сопротивление 50 кОм || Габариты: 340 х 152 х 405 || Масса: 10 || Цена: 90 000 руб.

Lilt Phono

Lilt Preamplifier

Lilt Power

All rights reserved. Все права защищены.

Находясь на сайте Вы соглашаетесь с:

Политикой конфиденциальности

Звуковая лаборатория   |   www.salaboratory.com

Где купить?

FAQ

© Copyright by Gotomedia

Фонокорректоры

Трансформаторы