SALAB | САЛАБ
SALAB | САЛАБ SALAB | САЛАБ

Where to buy

SALON AV: INTEGRATED AMPLIFIER S.A.LAB HERCULES SE MK II 15TH ANNIVERSARY

Price: 980 000 ₽

Reviewer: Nikolay Yefremov

August 13, 2017

Overview on SALON AV:

The new S.A.Lab device is unusual from several perspectives. First, its launch was timed to coincide with the company’s 15th anniversary and on that occasion a new schematic —fundamentally different from the ones used for other models — was designed. Besides 15 samples of the amp are to be sold 15 times cheaper than the announced retail price. And, as it turned out during our acquaintance with the new product, it is not only generous but also a very tempting offer.

SINGLE-ENDED TACT

 

Let me start from the fact that Hercules Anniversary Edition is a single-ended amplifier (rather a brave decision for a company that manufactures amps in order to actually sell them). As is known power sells the best, but the low (20 – 25%) efficiency of single-ended amp makes each additional Watt very expensive. That’s why such a design is popular only among the owners of ultra-sensitive wide-range speakers i.e. the target audience is quite small. But for a real audiophile all flaws of a single-ended amp are more than offset by its advantages, primarily the fact that the output tubes work in pure Class A with constant current-feed and the dominance of the second — so called euphonic — harmonics. Due to the absence of phase-inverting stages the representation becomes much more precise and the signal path turns out to be quite short: one cannel of a 5 W amp can be built with just two vacuum tubes.

 

But what if one needs more power? To achieve this goal several output tubes are connected in parallel, although this design also brings a problem — the current flowing through the transformer’s primary winding increases and to prevent the core from getting into saturation it’s necessary to widen the non-magnetic gap. This causes the decrease in inductance and as the result the disappearance of the low bass. In short the main obstacle to overcome while designing a proper single-ended amp is connected to the output transformer: it invariably turns out bulky and expensive to manufacture.

«The main obstacle while designing a proper single-ended amp is connected to the output transformer: it invariably turns out bulky and expensive to manufacture.»

Alexey Syomin, founder of S.A.Lab, developed a unique method of transformer winding, which he is about to patent. The output transformers are clearly visible on the photo below — the power-to-size ratio is about 1 kW (!), the core is made from high quality electric grade sheet. Each output stage has three 6P36S tetrodes switched in parallel and working as triodes. The output power achieved is 2x15 W and doesn’t depend on the connected speaker impedance. Low inner impedance of the output stage enabled to achieve good dumping while sustaining the minimal (3 dB) amount of feedback.

The amp has a true dual mono design with separate power transformers, rectifiers and chokes for feeding each channel. It’s a direct-current amplifier, i.e. there are no coupling capacitors between stages. These stages are only three in number: input stage based on 12AX7 tube, a driver with 6P14P working as a triode and the parallel output stages mentioned above. To avoid using capacitors the output tubes are fed via a separate source of negative voltage. Volume control with 2 dB step is an array of high quality relay-commutated resistors which in their turn are controlled via remote. The actual volume level is indicated in a circular window on the front panel.

 

«It’s a direct-current amplifier, i.e. there are no coupling capacitors between stages.»

 

Hercules Anniversary Edition has five line inputs, incl. two balanced XLRs. The signal is transformed into balanced/imbalanced form by means of Texas Instruments INA 137 differential receivers, but it’s possible to order a version with input transformers.

 

The amp is placed on a partitioned steel chassis. Tubes are mounted on thick copper plates; drivers are equipped with heat-sinks in order to decrease distortions.

 

Franco Poli’s design is traditional for newer S.A.Lab products: a tall cabinet on high dumping feet and a front panel made of corian (artificial marble) with circular backlit window. The device weighs 45 kilos.

I have to admit that I’ve listened to single-ended amps on many occasions. Most of those amps were based on rectilinear triodes – 300В, ГМ70, 845, 211s etc. Despite the mid-range magnificence and incredible musicality they as a rule lacked a proper vigor, a full-blown punch and — even being connected to speakers that had a very good bass response — a bottom end sufficient for playing back live concert. That is exactly why single-ender acquired the reputation of an amp for limited audience —namely lovers of mainstream jazz, opera and chamber music.

 

But Hercules SE MK II 15th Anniversary (to call it by its full name is a matter of principle now) — is a rare exception to this general rule. Connected to a 145-kilo Magico M3 floorstanders the amp produced such a dynamic sound that I had to ask my S.A.Lab colleague whether we were REALLY listening to a single-ended device. With only 15 Watts of power and at a modest volume level the sound had all the features needed for an adequate representation of any music genre incl. progressive metal and drum-n-bass. And there were no brute force per se: emotional vigor was combined with comfortable (one may even say ‘tender’) sensitivity in quiet moments and precise articulation of subtle music structure of any particular recording. The feeling of elation, of smooth delivery borders on dense full-bodied sound from the lowest octave to the sparkling silvery twitter. This is that rare occasion when the playback device provokes listeners to replay records that seemed too complicated and too intricate to be interesting. The amplifier’s sound is truly captivating for it neither simplifies a convoluted structure (a common flaw among amateur designs), no exerts superfluous brutality — a quality intrinsic to powerful push-pull devices.

 

«With only 15 Watts of power and at a modest volume level the sound had all the features needed for an adequate representation of any music genre incl. progressive metal and drum-n-bass.»

 

But the first thing we’ve noticed — even before the system was properly burned-in — was the incredible stability of the soundstage. No, really: one could wander around the room, stopping even between speakers… still most of the instruments remained in their proper places, only their relative scale changed slightly. Being in the hotspot one could feel both width and depth of the soundstage and also the 3D placing of every single sound.

 

I must admit that Hercules SE MK II 15th Anniversary is a perfect proof of the fact that the simpler the design is the more profound its implementation should be. A proper single-ender can’t be just thrown together — no matter how seductive such an approach may seem. So the 15 lucky ones who get the amp only for 1000 euros are really should be envied.

THE SYSTEM

 

•  Mark Levinson №512 CD-player

•  Magico M3 speakers

•  Cables:

–  Tellurium Q Black XLR interconnects

–  Nordost Red Dawn acoustic cables

 

S.A.Lab Hercules SE MK II Anniversary

 

Manufacturer: S.A.Lab (Russia)

 

salaboratory.com

 

Output power: 15 W (4 Ω) || Signal|noise ratio: –106 dB (unweighted) || THD: 0,3% || Input impedance: 10 кΩ || Size: 465 х 270 х 480 mm || Weight: 55 kilos || Price: 980 000 rubles.

 

The editorial staff thanks Sound ProLab for their help in conducting the audition.

SALAB | САЛАБ

Where to buy

FAQ

Amplifiers

Preamplifiers

Transformers

All rights reserved

Sound laboratory   |   www.salaboratory.com

© Copyright by Gotomedia

While on our site you agree with the:

Privacy Policy

SALab – Купить ламповые усилители | САЛаб – Купить ламповые усилители
SALab – Купить ламповые усилители | САЛаб – Купить ламповые усилители SALab – Купить ламповые усилители | САЛаб – Купить ламповые усилители

Где купить?

SALON AV: ИНТЕГРАЛЬНЫЙ УСИЛИТЕЛЬ S.A.LAB HERCULES SE MK II 15TH ANNIVERSARY

Цена: 980 000 ₽

Автор: Николай ЕФРЕМОВ

Август 13, 2017

Обзор на SALON AV:

Новый проект S.A.Lab необычен с нескольких точек зрения. Во-первых, его выпуск приурочен к 15-летнему юбилею компании и по этому случаю была разработана схемотехника, радикально отличающаяся от той, что применялась в других моделях. Кроме того, 15 экземпляров этого усилителя будут проданы по цене в 15 раз ниже заявленной розничной. И это, как выяснилось в ходе знакомства с новинкой, не только щедрое, но и крайне заманчивое предложение.

Начну с того, что юбилейный «Геркулес» — однотактный, а это довольно смелое решение для компании, производящей усилители на продажу. Как известно, лучше всего продаётся мощность, а из-за низкого КПД однотактников (20 – 25%) каждый ватт обходится очень дорого. Поэтому такая схемотехника более популярна у владельцев сверхчувствительной широкополосной акустики, т.е. целевая аудитория крайне невелика. Но для настоящих меломанов все недостатки single end с лихвой компенсируются преимуществами. Это, прежде всего, работа выходных ламп в «чистом» классе А с постоянным потреблением тока от источника питания, а в спектре искажений доминирует вторая, «благозвучная» гармоника. В схеме отсутствуют фазоинверсные каскады, негативно влияющие на точность построения пространственной картины, да и сам тракт получается очень коротким: один канал 5-ваттного усилителя можно построить всего на двух лампах.

 

А если нужно больше мощности? Для этого включают несколько выходных ламп параллельно, хотя здесь возникает другая проблема – увеличивается ток через первичную обмотку трансформатора, и чтобы сердечник не вошёл в насыщение, приходится расширять немагнитный зазор. Но при этом падает индуктивность и, как следствие, пропадает низкий бас. Короче говоря, главная проблема построения хорошего однотактника упирается в выходной трансформатор, который неизбежно получается громоздким и дорогим в производстве.

«Главная проблема построения хорошего однотактника упирается в выходной трансформатор, который неизбежно получается дорогим и громоздким.»

Алексей Сёмин, основатель S.A.Lab, разработал собственную методику намотки трансформаторов, которую собирается патентовать. Выходники хорошо видны на фото —  габаритная мощность около киловатта (!), сердечник из качественной электротехнической стали. В оконечных каскадах – по три тетрода 6П36С, включенных параллельно в триодном режиме. Выходная мощность получилась 2 х 15 Вт независимо от сопротивления подключенной акустики. Низкое внутреннее сопротивление выходных каскадов позволили получить хорошее демпфирование при минимальной глубине обратной связи (3 дБ).

Усилитель имеет архитектуру полного двойного моно – с раздельными сетевыми трансформаторами, выпрямителями и дросселями для питания каждого канала.

 

Звуковой тракт построен по схеме УПТ (усилителя постоянного тока), т.е. между каскадами нет разделительных конденсаторов. Всего каскадов три: входной на 12AX7, драйвер на 6П14П в триоде и описанные выше параллельные оконечники. Чтобы избавиться от конденсаторов, для питания выходных ламп пришлось добавить источник отрицательного напряжения.

 

Регулятор громкости с шагом 2 дБ представляет собой набор качественных резисторов, коммутируемых с помощью реле, которые, в свою очередь, управляются с пульта ДУ. Уровень высвечивается в круглом окошке на лицевой панели усилителя.

 

«Звуковой тракт построен по схеме УПТ (усилителя постоянного тока), т.е. между каскадами нет разделительных конденсаторов.»

 

У юбилейного «Геркулеса» пять линейных входов, причём два из них – XLR. Преобразование сигнала баланс/небаланс осуществляется дифференциальными приёмниками INA 137 от Texas Instruments, но можно заказать вариант со входными трансформаторами.

 

Усилитель собран на стальном шасси с перегородками. Лампы установлены на толстых медных пластинах, для снижения искажений драйверы снабжены теплоотводами.

 

Дизайн от Франко Поли (Franco Poli) — традиционный для последних разработок S.A.Lab: высокий корпус с лицевой панелью из кориана, круглое окно индикатора с подсветкой, высокие демпфирующие ножки. Масса аппарата – 45 кг.

Признаюсь, мне неоднократно приходилось слушать однотактные усилители, в основном на прямонакальных триодах – 300В, ГМ70, 845, 211-х… При всём великолепии среднего диапазона и невероятной музыкальности (как правило) часто не хватало настоящего драйва, полновесного удара и – даже с очень басовитой акустикой — реального концертного низа. Собственно, из-за этого однотактники и приобрели репутацию усилителей для узкого круга слушателей – ценителей и оперной, и камерной музыки, и лёгкого джазового мейнстрима.

 

А вот Hercules SE MK II 15th Anniversary (принципиально назову его полным именем) – редкое исключение из общего правила. В сочетании с 145-килограммовой напольной акустикой Magico M3 усилитель выдал такую динамику, что я даже переспросил коллегу из S.A.Lab, точно ли мы слушаем однотактный аппарат. При мощности 15 Вт и вовсе не на полной громкости в звуке было всё, что нужно для адекватной подачи любых жанров, включая progressive metal и drum-n-bass. И здесь нет грубой силы как таковой – эмоциональный напор сочетается с комфортной, если не сказать ласковой деликатностью на тихих фрагментах и точной передачей тонкой музыкальной структуры той или иной записи. Ощущение лёгкости, плавности подачи, и тут же плотный, насыщенный саунд от самой нижней октавы до искрящегося серебра твитера. Тот редкий случай, когда воспроизводящая техника провоцирует слушателя ставить диски с музыкой, которая раньше казалась сложной, непонятной и потому неинтересной. Звучание усилителя по-настоящему захватывает – в нём нет ни упрощения сложных структур, чем часто грешат любительские конструкции, ни излишней брутальности, присущей мощным пентодным двухтактникам.

 

«При мощности 15 Вт и вовсе не на полной громкости в звуке было всё, что нужно для адекватной подачи любых жанров, включая progressive metal и drum-n-bass.»

 

Но первое, что мы заметили ещё в ходе прогрева системы – какая-то нереально стабильная звуковая сцена. Вот буквально: ходишь по комнате, даже встаёшь между колонками, а большинство инструментов остаётся на своих местах, лишь немного   меняется их относительный масштаб. В «правильной» точке прослушивания чувствуется и ширина, и глубина пространства, и трёхмерная локализация каждого отдельного звука.

 

Должен сказать, что Hercules SE MK II 15th Anniversary – прекрасное доказательство тому, что чем проще концепция, тем основательнее должна быть реализация. И на коленке хороший однотактник не сделать при всей заманчивости такого подхода. Так что пятнадцати счастливчикам, которым усилитель достанется за одну тысячу евро, можно реально позавидовать.

СИСТЕМА

 

•  CD-проигрыватель Mark Levinson №512

•  Акустические системы Magico M3

•  Кабели:

–  межблочные Tellurium Q Black XLR

–  акустические Nordost Red Dawn

 

S.A.Lab Hercules SE MK II Anniversary

 

Производитель: S.A.Lab (Россия)

 

salaboratory.com

 

Выходная мощность: 15 Вт (4 Ома) || Отношение сигнал/шум: -106 дБ (невзвешенное значение) || КНИ: 0,3% || Входное сопротивление: 10 кОм || Габариты: 465 х 270 х 480 мм || Масса: 55 кг || Цена: 980 тыс. руб.

 

Редакция благодарит салон Sound ProLab за помощь в проведении прослушивания.

SALab – Купить ламповые усилители | САЛаб – Купить ламповые усилители
SALab – Купить ламповые усилители | САЛаб – Купить ламповые усилители SALab – Купить ламповые усилители | САЛаб – Купить ламповые усилители

Где купить?

FAQ

Трансформаторы

All rights reserved. Все права защищены.

Звуковая лаборатория   |   www.salaboratory.com

© Copyright by Gotomedia

Находясь на сайте Вы соглашаетесь с:

Политикой конфиденциальности