SALab – Buy Lamp amplifiers
SALab – Buy Lamp amplifiers SALab – Buy Lamp amplifiers

Where to buy

SALON AV: S.A.LAB HERCULES MKII

Prise: 6 000 000 ₽

Reviewer: Nikolay EFREMOV

February 03, 2017

Of all the Russian audio manufacturers only Alexey Syomin is probably audacious enough to start a new project of such a scale for investments are huge — as well as the risk of failure. Of course if one doesn’t try to create High End audio from junk bought at a garage sale — counting on innermost esoteric knowledge and magic cables.

RESURRECTED IN MARBLE

Each project of Alexey receives maximum funding but without fanaticism or pomposity. He works for audio connoisseurs who appreciate a truly high quality audio device… and have enough money to buy it. Compared to 1990s the number of such people in Russia grew considerably but not sufficiently to support Russian manufacturers with steady inflow of cash. A considerable share of S.A.Lab’s products is sold in Europe — the fact that can be regarded as a reliable proof of quality. But more important is the sense of solidity, thoroughness and a tendency to use original engineering solutions even for budget models.

In this respect the new Syomin’s project far exceeds his previous achievements. Hercules Mk II combo consisting of a preamp and a pair of mono blocks weighs more than 400 kilos and is delivered in three huge crates. Last year Hercules’s pre-production sample received the Product of the Year prize at the Moscow Hi-Fi & High End Show being nominated in the Component Manufactured in Russia category but never reached the mass-production stage. As soon as the Show ended, a number of ideas for improving this ‘monster’ was put forward commencing the work on MK II version. By the way this fact is in itself a proof of Alexey’s attitude: without ‘creaming off’ his previous model he started designing a new one with the aim of not just face-lifting it but looking for a radical overhaul of schematic and architecture.

 

«The most important (and costly) feature is that filaments in all the tubes incl. powerful ones are heated by rectified and stabilized voltage».

 

Hercules Mk II has three-level architecture. The lowest one is comprised of the power source featuring 1200 VA transformer, Schottky diode rectifier and a bank of custom-made capacitors (100,000 µF/600 V). To eliminate power surge while they are charging a gradual start of anode feeding is provided (the corresponding voltage amounts to 580 V). The most important (and costly) feature is that filaments in all the tubes incl. powerful ones are heated by rectified and stabilized voltage. This approach leaves no chance for hum, a real scourge of a tube amplifier.

The second level contains additional feeding decoupling circuits with smoothing capacitors and output transformers. Power-to-size ratio of the latter ones is also 1200 VA; the technology of hand winding and the way windings are switched is designed by S.A. and will probably be patented in the near future. The transformers’ tape cores are manufactured from the best Russian electric grade sheet.

 

And finally the upper level which contains the cooling system: one can feel a powerful current of heated air escaping form a ventilation grille. Output stages feature eight (four in each shoulder) thoroughly matched 6P36С tetrodes working in a push-pull ultralinear mode. Let me remind you that such a mode with a tap for screen grilles combines the advantages of triode stages (low output impedance, short harmonics plume) whilst the decrease in output power is insignificant. Eight substantial valves produce 200 W working in class A no matter what the speaker impedance is: Hercules is equipped with binding posts for connecting both 4Ω and 8Ω speakers. The signal voltage is amplified by 6072 double triode and accelerated by a driver utilizing 12W 6v6 pentodes.

 

The levels are connected by means of RPN military grade posts with silver-plated knife contacts. In case of malfunction any level (shelf) can be easily extracted and tried on a test bench.

 

«Output stages feature eight (four in each shoulder) thoroughly matched 6P36С tetrodes working in a push-pull ultralinear mode».

 

Pre amp is designed for working with one of five line sources remotely switched. It’s equipped with push-pull transformer output based on a pair of 6P9 pentodes working as triodes. Essentially it’s a small-scale power amp with output impedance of about 22 Ω capable of working with cable of any length. In my opinion the only thing it lacks is a headphone output. The schematic is completely suitable for it — only the socket is missing.

 

Input stages are based on rare and expensive Siemens C3g tubes featuring low noise level and enormous resource. Volume is controlled by step attenuator utilizing relays with micro-current contacts.

 

As seen on the picture the new Hercules threesome’s look is truly monumental. He decided to finish cabinets with American walnut tree massif (this material is used to manufacture rifle butts) and genuine Carrara marble (the huge slabs of it are delivered to Russia from Italy). According to Alexey finding pieces of similar color and texture is not as easy job and a lot of marble is to be discarded.

We listened to this combo for two days in a row; first with Mark Levinson №512 CD/SACD-player then with Studer A-807 Mk II tape recorder playing back master tapes. The speakers were of similar quality level — 145-kilo closed cabinet Magico M3s with graphene cones and diamond coated 28-mm twitters.

 

«Designer decided to finish cabinets with American walnut tree massif and genuine Carrara marble».

 

We started with listening to CDs. The output was about 60% of the maximum level. At first the sound seemed too loud but gradually our hearing adapted to it. Dynamic range was incredibly wide but more important was the spine-chilling agility and easiness of transitions from pianos to thundering fortes. It immediately occurred to us how unusual this speed was and how unaccustomed to it we grew to be. Intervals between tracks were dead silent but intermissions between parts of a single musical piece were alive with the breath of audience. I instantly recalled that in order to avoid an emotional collapse while editing a radio show the intermissions were filled not with demagnetized tape but with a ‘sound’ of an empty recording studio. Powerful transistor amps tend to ‘bleach’ low level sounds and sometimes ignore them completely giving music a mechanical tinge. The Hercules combo held our attention to the last note of each track helping us to discern the seemingly insignificant nuances. But it is them that created the overall impression of a musical piece.

Talking about micro dynamics I don’t think I can remember another audio system capable of demonstrating the difference between CD and so vividly. The SACD provides an entirely different level of spaciousness, harmonic accuracy and the feeling of ‘wholeness’ together with incredible immediacy of the audio picture. By the way, you can listen to the Hercules combo at low volume for neither musical balance nor aerial perspective suffers from it. Even high and low frequencies roll-off — an unavoidable trait to our hearing — is less obtrusive than usual.

 

Bass was marvelous (nimble and agile) — as well as the middle which was reproduced without unintelligible hum and a vague ‘rubbery’ constituent appeared only at the very bottom. This seemed to be the result of a lower dumping factor (compared to the one of a transistor amp). In this respect the most suitable speakers for these power amps would be the Altecs, early JBLs etc. In other words speakers with huge woofers equipped with light paper cones. But even with the low-impedance Magico the amps produced impressive results.

 

Especially so when we connected Studer and played back a master tape recorded as 15 ips. Frankly I never heard such a hurricane of dynamics. We were literally swept out of the room (despite the fact that the volume level remained the same) and had to continue listening from a neighboring room through an opened door. The sound was succulent and meaty with luxurious middle and bright ‘analogue’ frequencies. Michael Jackson’s Thriller exhibited so many sounds and unexpected effects we never noticed before that our heads started spinning. The audio space was grossly overpopulated, but we noticed no hint of either inaudible mess or loss of timbre clarity. It seemed impossible to bring these monsters to the brink of clipping. We changed the genre to jazz quintet and voila — spaciousness, airiness and depth of audio scene were gloriously evident. Even tape noise during gaps was perceived as an essential element of the general picture.

 

«Dynamic range was incredibly wide but more important was the spine-chilling agility and easiness of transition from pianos to thundering fortes».

 

We had to admit that the room was too small for the Herculeses; they needed more space — preferably a high ceilinged hall with about 5 m distance between listeners and speakers (the way it is in a small jazz club). In tis case you will be listening not to a pair of speakers but to the absolutely real soundstage sitting on the best seat.

 

«You can listen to the Hercules combo at low volume for neither musical balance nor aerial perspective suffers from it. Even high and low frequencies roll-off — an unavoidable trait to our hearing — is less obtrusive than usual».

 

«The audio space was grossly overpopulated, but we noticed no hint of either inaudible mess or loss of timbre clarity».

THE MUSIC

 

CD/SACD

 

Celine Dion, «All The Way… A Decade Of Song». SACD Sony 2004

«Tutti! Orchestral Sampler». 24 bit HDCD Reference Recordings, 1997

Jean Sibelius, «Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D minor, op.47». Anne-Sophie Mutter and Staatskapelle Dresden. Deutsche Grammophon GmbH, Dresden 1995.

Noisia, «Split the Atom». 2 CD, Mau5trap, 2013

 

МАСТЕР-ЛЕНТЫ

 

Ray Brown, “Live in Nagykanizsa”,1998

Freddie Mircury & Montserrat Caballe «Barcelona», 1987

Michael Jackson «Thriller», 1982

Rachmaninoff «Piano Concerto N3». Ashkenazy/Previn

 

S.A.Lab Hercules Mk II

 

Manufactured by: S.A.Lab (Russia)

 

salaboratory.com

 

Output: 250W (4Ω) || Signal/noise ratio: –99dB|| THD: 0.03% (150W, 4Ω) || Size (mono block/pre amp): 555 х 685 х 700mm/465 х 270 х 480mm|| Weight (mono block/pre amp): 175/57kilos || Price: 6,000,000 rubles.

 

Editorial office thanks SoundProLab salon for its help in conduction the listening tests.

SALab – Buy Lamp amplifiers
SALab – Buy Lamp amplifiers SALab – Buy Lamp amplifiers

Where to buy

FAQ

Amplifiers

Preamplifiers

Transformers

All rights reserved

Sound laboratory   |   www.salaboratory.com

© Copyright by Gotomedia

While on our site you agree with the:

Privacy Policy

Где купить?

SALON AV: S.A.LAB HERCULES MKII

Усилительный комплекс S.A. Lab Hercules Mk II

Автор: Николай ЕФРЕМОВ Размещено: Февраль 03, 2017

Пожалуй, никто из российских производителей не отваживается на столь масштабные проекты, как Алексей Сёмин и его S.A.Lab. Уж слишком велик риск при гигантских финансовых вложениях. Если, конечно, не пытаться создавать High End из хлама с Митинского рынка, уповая на сокровенные эзотерические знания и какие-нибудь волшебные провода.

ОЖИВШАЯ В КАМНЕ

Алексей в каждый проект вкладывается по максимуму, но без фанатизма и помпезности. Расчёт – на меломанов со вкусом, пониманием, что такое настоящая вещь, и деньгами, конечно. Сейчас таких людей гораздо больше, чем в 90-е, но всё же не так много, чтобы стабильно поддерживать рублём российского производителя. Некоторая часть продукции S.A.Lab продаётся в Европе, что можно считать надёжным сертификатом качества. Но главное, что даже в бюджетных моделях чувствуется основательность, продуманность и склонность к незатасканным решениям.

С этой точки зрения новый проект Сёмина заметно превосходит его прежние достижения. Комплекс Hercules Mk II, состоящий из предусилителя и пары моноблоков, весит более 400 кг и поставляется в трёх огромных ящиках. Первая версия «Геркулеса» в прошлом году получила приз «Продукт Года» Hi-Fi&High End Show в номинации «Компонент российского производства», но в серию не пошла. Вскоре после выставки появились идеи, как улучшить этого монстра, и началась работа над MK II. Это, кстати, тоже показатель отношения к делу – не сняв сливки с предыдущей модели, начать разработку новой, причём не просто «подтянуть лицо», а капитально пересмотреть схемотехнику и конструкцию.

 

«Самое необычное (и затратное), что накал всех ламп, включая и мощные, питается выпрямленным и стабилизированным напряжением».

 

Конструкция Hercules Mk II трёхэтажная. На нижнем уровне собран источник питания – трансформатор мощностью 1200 ВА, выпрямитель на диодах Шоттки и банк заказных конденсаторов 10000 мкФ на 600 В. Чтобы исключить бросок тока при их зарядке, предусмотрен мягкий пуск анодного питания, которое для выходных каскадов достигает 580 В. Самое необычное (и затратное), что накал всех ламп, включая и мощные, питается выпрямленным и стабилизированным напряжением, что не оставляет фону, настоящему бичу ламповых усилителей, никаких шансов.

На втором этаже – дополнительные развязки по питанию со сглаживающими ёмкостями и выходные трансформаторы. Габаритная мощность последних также 1200 ВА, технология ручной намотки и способ включения разработан в S.A. Lab и, возможно, в ближайшем будущем будут запатентованы. Сердечники ленточные, из лучшей российской электротехнической стали.

 

И, наконец, верхний уровень, от которого через вентиляционную решётку мощно идёт нагретый воздух. Оконечные каскады построены на восьми (по четыре в плече) тщательно подобранных тетродах 6П36С в двухтактном ультралинейном включении. Напомню, что такой режим с отводами для экранных сеток сочетает преимущества триодных каскадов (низкое выходное сопротивление, короткий шлейф гармоник) при незначительном снижении выходной мощности. Восемь солидных баллонов выдают 200 Вт в классе «А» независимо от сопротивления акустики – у «Геркулеса» есть отводы на 4 и 8 Ом. По напряжению сигнал усиливается двойным триодом 6072, а разгоняется драйвером на 12-ваттных пентодах 6v6.

 

Соединения между этажами осуществляются через военные разъёмы РПН с посеребрёнными ножевыми контактами. В случае неисправности любую полку можно быстро демонтировать и прогнать на контрольном стенде.

 

«Оконечные каскады построены на восьми (по четыре в плече) тщательно подобранных тетродах 6П36С в двухтактном ультралинейном включении».

 

Предусилитель рассчитан на подключение пяти линейных источников, которые коммутируются с пульта. Выход у него двухтактный трансформаторный, на паре пентодов 6П9 в триодном включении. По сути, это небольшой усилитель мощности с выходным сопротивлением порядка 22 Ом, способный прокачать кабель любой длины. Единственно, чего аппарату, на мой взгляд, не хватает – гнезда для наушников. При такой организации выхода кроме разъёма ничего бы и не потребовалось.

 

Во входных каскадах установлены редкие и дорогие лампы Siemens C3g с малым уровнем шумов и колоссальным рабочим ресурсом. Громкость регулируется ступенчатым аттенюатором на реле с микротоковыми контактами.

 

Как видно на фото, тройка новых «Геркулесов» выполнена в поистине монументальном стиле, предложенном известным итальянским дизайнером Франко Поли (Franco Poli). Для внешней отделки он решил использовать массив американского ореха (из него изготавливают ружейные приклады) и натуральный каррарский мрамор, который в огромных слябах поставляется в Россию из Италии. Как рассказал Алексей, чтобы подобрать фрагменты с одинаковым цветом и рисунком, пришлось изрядно потрудиться, и много дорогого мрамора отправить в отвал.

Слушали мы этот комплект два дня подряд – сначала с CD/SACD-проигрывателем Mark Levinson №512, а потом мастер-ленты на катушечном магнитофоне Studer A-807 Mk II. Акустические системы были соответствующие – 145-килограммовые Magico M3 закрытого типа, с диффузорами из графена и 28-миллиметровыми твитерами с алмазным напылением.

 

«Дизайнер Франко Поли решил использовать для внешней отделки массив американского ореха и натуральный каррарский мрамор».

 

И так, компакт-диски. Выходная мощность – порядка 60% от максимальной. Поначалу кажется невозможно громко, но постепенно слух адаптируется. Динамический диапазон нереально огромен, и что самое важное, переход от пиано к оглушительному фортиссимо настолько быстр и лёгок, что мурашки идут по коже. Начинаешь понимать, насколько мы успели отвыкнуть от такой скорости. Паузы между треками мёртвые, между частями произведения – живые, с дыханием зала. Сразу вспомнилось: при монтаже радиоспектаклей в паузы вклеивалась не размагниченная лента, а с записью пустой студии, чтобы не возникало эмоционального провала. Мощные транзисторные усилители склонны нивелировать живую атмосферу на низких уровнях, а иногда и полностью игнорируют её, из-за чего звучание кажется механистичным. «Геркулесы» не отпускают внимание до конца трека, акцентируя его на самых, казалось бы, незначительных деталях. Но именно из них и складывается впечатление о музыкальном произведении.

Если говорить о микродинамике, то я, пожалуй, не вспомню ещё одной системы, столь явно показывающей разницу между CD и SACD. Совершенно иная подача пространства, гармоническая точность и ощущение цельности события при невероятной детальности картины. Кстати, «Геркулесы» можно слушать и на малой громкости, ни музыкальный баланс, ни пространственная перспектива при этом не страдает. Даже спад на НЧ и ВЧ – неизбежное следствие особенностей нашего слуха – ощущается не так явно, как обычно.

 

Бас великолепен, от так же быстр и подвижен, как и середина, без невнятного гула, а некоторая «резиновая» компонента появляется лишь возле самой нижней границы. Похоже, сказывается не столь высокий, как у транзисторных усилителей, демпфинг-фактор. Наверное, с этой точки зрения самой подходящей акустикой для этих оконечников были бы Altec, ранние JBL и им подобные системы с огромными, но лёгкими бумажными динамиками. Но и с низкоомными Magico результат был куда как впечатляющ.

 

Особенно, когда мы подключили к предусилителю Studer, зарядив копию мастера на 38-й скорости. Такой ураганной динамики я, пожалуй, раньше не слышал. Нас буквально вынесло из комнаты (а громкость была на той же отметке), пришлось слушать из смежного помещения через открытую дверь. Потом, понятное дело, уровень прибрали. Звук сочный, с «мясом», шикарной серединой и звонким «аналоговым» верхом. На «Триллере» обнаружилось столько незамеченных ранее звуков и неожиданных эффектов, что голова шла кругом. Плотность заполнения звукового пространства была запредельной, и никакой каши, сумбура или потери тембральной точности. Похоже, довести до клиппинга этих монстров просто нереально. Меняем тему на джазовый квинтет, и пожалуйста – воздух, объём, трёхмерная сцена с абсолютно живыми инструментами. Даже шум ленты в паузе воспринимался как неотъемлемая составляющая общей картины.

 

«Динамический диапазон нереально огромен, и что самое важное, переход от пиано к оглушительному фортиссимо настолько быстр и лёгок, что мурашки идут по коже».

 

Да, в этом помещении «Геркулесам» было тесновато, им нужно простор – желательно зал с высоким потолком, и чтоб от акустики до слушателей было метров пять, как в небольшом джазовом клубе. И вы будете сидеть не перед колонками, а на лучших местах возле абсолютно реальной сцены.

 

«Геркулесы» можно слушать и на малой громкости, ни музыкальный баланс, ни пространственная перспектива при этом не страдает. Даже спад на НЧ и ВЧ – неизбежное следствие особенностей нашего слуха – ощущается не так явно»

 

«Плотность заполнения звукового пространства была запредельной, и никакой каши, сумбура или потери тембральной точности»

МУЗЫКА

 

CD/SACD

 

Celine Dion, «All The Way… A Decade Of Song». SACD Sony 2004

«Tutti! Orchestral Sampler». 24 bit HDCD Reference Recordings, 1997

Jean Sibelius, «Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D minor, op.47». Anne-Sophie Mutter and Staatskapelle Dresden. Deutsche Grammophon GmbH, Dresden 1995.

Noisia, «Split the Atom». 2 CD, Mau5trap, 2013

 

МАСТЕР-ЛЕНТЫ

 

Ray Brown, “Live in Nagykanizsa”,1998

Freddie Mircury & Montserrat Caballe «Barcelona», 1987

Michael Jackson «Thriller», 1982

Rachmaninoff «Piano Concerto N3». Ashkenazy/Previn

 

S.A.Lab Hercules Mk II

 

Производитель: S.A. Lab (Россия)

 

salaboratory.com

 

Выходная мощность: 250 (4 Ома) || Отношение сигнал/шум: -99 дБ || КНИ: 0,07% (150 Вт, 4 Ома) || Габариты (моноблок/предусилитель): 555 х 685 х 700/465 х 270 х 480 мм || Масса (моноблок/предусилитель): 175/57 кг || Цена комплекта: 6 млн. руб.

 

Редакция благодарит салон SoundProLab за помощь в проведении прослушивания.

Где купить?

FAQ

© Copyright by Gotomedia