SALab – Buy Lamp amplifiers
SALab – Buy Lamp amplifiers SALab – Buy Lamp amplifiers

Where to buy

SALON AV: WHITE KNIGHT. S.A.LAB INTEGRATED AMP

Price: 480 000 ₽

Reviewer: Nikolay Yefremov

June 24, 2016

Overview on SALON AV:

Until I started this test I was sure that any attempt to find a new way of designing a transistor amplifier was pointless. Reasonable specs were achieved long ago and it would be impractical to improve them for they are high enough to make further designers’ efforts simply inaudible.

THE KNIGHT OF THE CLEAR FIGURE

In my opinion here lies the deadlock of transistor schematic: designers change feedback depth, find faster semiconductors, increase energy input of power supply; they try out differential stages, current mirrors or ‘broken’ cascodes… Surely all these measures yield some result but for most listeners it’s not perceptible. So is there a way out?

 

Alexey Syomin, founder of S.A.Lab, thinks the problem to be caused by the initially misguided approach to design. “Unlike tube, transistor amplifies current not voltage, — he said presenting a pre-market sample of White Knight integrated amplifier. — The main feature of this amp’s schematic is the absence of amplifying stages in the ordinary sense of the word. Signal path consists of several emitter followers which amplify only the signal’s power; its amplitude is ‘accelerated’ by several coupling step-up transformers with 5Hz–300kHz of bandwidth.

Output module is a one-piece casting radiator encasing a powerful follower based on 24 Sanken transistors. 18 of those create output signal and the rest regulate current, temperature and other operating parameters. Transistors are mounted on the radiator via beryllium oxide washers; the other elements are encapsulated in a heat-conducting compound and are heated while working (resistors are heated to 30o, electrolytic capacitors — to 50o, transistors — to 60o). Capacitors are heated to increase the speed of carriers (ions) flowing between plates. Amplifier with output of up to 20W works in Class A which provides the heating of circuit elements. All in all 6 kilos of expensive German compound are used for building a single amplifier.

 

«Signal path consists of several emitter followers which amplify only the signal’s power; its amplitude is ‘accelerated’ by several coupling step-up transformers with 5Hz–300kHz of bandwidth»

 

Input module has similar architecture but on a smaller scale. The stages are coupled via step-up transformer with 1:4 coefficient. The input follower is terminated on 1:8 transformer. Thus total gain amounts to 32. In all fairness I must note that similar schematic was used by Bob Carver in his amps designed as early as 1970s.

Apart from coupling transformers the amp features four substantial toroidal transformers that provide separate feeding not only for each channel but also for each «+» and «-» bus. They are wound by precision machines to ensure the absolute equality of voltages in symmetrical shoulders. It’s obviously a costly solution but it guarantees better elimination of power line interferences than the traditional ground-center tap design can ensure. Besides, double mono design with complete channel separation is noted for high level of crosstalk attenuation which enhances stereo imaging and clarity.

 

«Double mono design with complete channel separation is noted for high level of crosstalk attenuation which enhances stereo imaging and clarity»

 

Three line inputs are switched by hermetically sealed relays which have passed military formal acceptance. Ensured are speaker protection and Direct mode in which #1 input signal bypasses volume control unit. This mode provides for possible integration into home entertainment system with AV-processor or pre amp.

 

This device has standard size but its unique schematic stipulated for a record weight of 65 kilos.

 

While we were talking with Alexey and taking photos the amp was working in the background at several output Watts. Had I not been already acquainted with its architecture I would have definitely called it a tube single-ender comparable to Audio Note of the fifth level: the sound was neat, transparent, detailed and very musical. Undoubtedly White Knight doesn’t exhibit a single trace of notorious ‘first Watt’ problem despite the fact that working with 4Ω ProAc Carbon Pro 8 speakers it can produce up to 360W. Intrigued, I changed volume level several times but it affected only dynamic range — the stage remained rock-solid retaining all timbres and nuances. Just for the sake of argument turn the volume handle on your amp and starting from some point you’ll most likely note that aftersounds and small details tend to vanish making sound plain and bland. If this is not the case you’ve chosen a proper amp.

 

«Undoubtedly White Knight exhibits not a single trace of notorious ‘first Watt’ problem despite the fact that working with 4Ω ProAc Carbon Pro 8 speakers it can produce up to 360W»

 

Now we set the system volume to level optimal for the listening test — a bit short of creating discomfort caused by excessive sound pressure. And I must admit that there was almost no change to sound — with the exception of overall dynamics. Detail and musicality remained with no aggression in the upper region — despite the fact that ribbon tweeters tend to highlight even the tiniest of distortions.

The Knight’s drive is truly gargantuan; electronic bass is conveyed in such a way that diffusors really start driving the room. Meanwhile the amp doesn’t underline the lower register thereby widening soundstage and adding spaciousness to it.

 

«Transitions from piano to forte, from complete silence to peak sound amplitude were so natural that some chamber recordings closely resembled live sound»

 

Some audiophiles claim that transformer coupling circuit better translates energetics and drive, and I can readily agree with that. Transitions from piano to forte, from complete silence to peak sound amplitude were so natural that some chamber recordings closely resembled live sound. Yes, at high volume levels and while playing back complex tracks the upper midrange exhibited signs of slight intermodulation but it was probably the only flaw I’ve noticed. On the whole the specter of musical instruments — both acoustic and sampled — was conveyed with extreme neatness and credibility.

In our case the construction of audio stage depended exclusively upon speakers’ dispersion and their interaction with the listening room acoustics. In this respect the amp, being intrinsically precise per se, gave its entourage a complete freedom for shaping and placing sound images.

 

 

THE SYSTEM

 

Naim CD5х CD Player

ProAc Carbon Pro 8 speakers

Cables:

— S.A.Lab interconnects and acoustic cables

— Groneberg Quattro Reference power cable

Groneberg Quattro Reference Power Center 5 power splitter

 

THE MUSIC

 

«Tutti! Orchestral Sampler». HDCD Reference Recordings, 1997. 24 bit recording

Pink Floyd, «Division Bell». EMI/Pink Floyd Music 1994

The Manhattan Transfer, «Tonin’». Atlantic, 1994

Eleanor McEvoy, «Oh Uganda». Mosco Disk, 2008

 

S.A.Lab White Knight

 

Manufactured by: S.A.Lab (Russia)

 

salaboratory.com

 

Inputs: 3 х RCA || Input impedance: 10kΩ || Output (1kHz): 2 х 180W (4Ω), 2 х 90W (8Ω) || Input sensitivity: 0.707V || THD (50% output): 0.03 % || Signal/noise ratio (unweighted): –106dB|| Frequency range (±0,1dB): 20Hz– 34kHz || Consumption: 410VA|| Size: 190 х 460 х 460mm|| Weight: 65 kilos|| 2-year guarantee|| Price: 480 000 rubles.

SALab – Buy Lamp amplifiers
SALab – Buy Lamp amplifiers SALab – Buy Lamp amplifiers

Where to buy

FAQ

Amplifiers

Preamplifiers

Transformers

All rights reserved

Sound laboratory   |   www.salaboratory.com

© Copyright by Gotomedia

While on our site you agree with the:

Privacy Policy

Где купить?

SALON AUDIOVIDEO ONLINE: WHITE KNIGHT

Интегральный усилитель S.A.Lab White Knight

Автор: Николай ЕФРЕМОВ

До этого теста я был уверен, что искать какой-то иной путь при проектировании транзисторных усилителей бессмысленно. Разумные технические параметры давно достигнуты, и улучшать их не имеет практического смысла – они уже настолько высоки, что на слух дальнейшие старания разработчиков не будут заметны.

РЫЦАРЬ ЧЁТКОГО ОБРАЗА

На мой взгляд, в этом и заключается тупик транзисторной схемотехники – разработчики меняют глубину обратной связи, находят более скоростные полупроводники, наращивают энерговооружённость питания, экспериментируют с дифкаскадами, токовыми зеркалами, «сломанными» каскодами… Всё это, конечно,  даёт какой-то результат, но на слух он очевиден не всегда и не всем. Есть ли выход?

 

Алексей Сёмин, основатель S.A.Lab, считает, что проблема в изначально неправильном подходе к проектированию. «Транзистор – не лампа и должен усиливать ток, а не напряжение», — сказал он, предоставляя для теста предпродажный образец  интегрального усилителя White Knight. Главная идея здесь в том, что в нём нет усилительных каскадов в привычном понимании. Тракт состоит из нескольких эмиттерных повторителей, которые усиливают сигнал только по мощности, а по амплитуде он разгоняется повышающими межкаскадными трансформаторами с полосой пропускания 5 Гц – 300 кГц.

Выходной модуль представляет собой цельнолитой радиатор, внутри которого собрана схема мощного повторителя на 24 транзисторах Sanken. Причём 18 из них работают на выход, а шесть регулируют токи, температуру и иные рабочие режимы. Транзисторы крепятся на радиаторе через прокладки из оксида бериллия, все остальные элементы уложены в теплопроводящий компаунд и в рабочем режиме подогреваются: резисторы до 30 градусов, электролитические конденсаторы до 50, транзисторы до 60. Конденсаторы, в частности, нужно греть, чтобы увеличить скорость носителей (ионов) между обкладками. Усилитель до 20 Вт работает в классе «А», чем и обеспечивается начальный нагрев элементов схемы. Всего же на усилитель ушло около 6 кг дорогого немецкого компаунда.

 

«Тракт состоит из нескольких эмиттерных повторителей, которые усиливают сигнал только по мощности, а по амплитуде он разгоняется повышающими межкаскадными трансформаторами с полосой пропускания 5 Гц – 300 кГц.»

 

Выходной модуль раскачивается аналогичным по конструкции, но меньшего размера. Связь осуществляется через повышающий трансформатор с коэффициентом 1:4. Входной повторитель нагружен на трансформатор 1:8. Таким образом, общий коэффициент усиления – 32. Справедливости ради отмечу, что похожую схемотехнику Боб Карвер применял в своих усилителях ещё в 70-х годах прошлого века.

Помимо межкаскадных трансформаторов, в усилителе установлены четыре солидных тора, обеспечивающих раздельное питание не только по каналам, но и по шинам «+» и «-».  Они намотаны на высокоточных станках, чем гарантируется абсолютное равенство напряжений в симметричных плечах. Решение, безусловно, затратное, но обеспечивает лучшее подавление сетевых помех, чем при традиционной схеме с заземлённой средней точкой. Кроме того, двойное моно с полностью разделёнными каналами отличается большим переходным затуханием, что положительно сказывается на ширине стереобазы и чёткости картинки.

 

«Двойное моно с полностью разделёнными каналами отличается большим переходным затуханием, что положительно сказывается на ширине стереобазы и чёткости картинки.»

 

Три линейных входа коммутируются герконовыми реле с военной приёмкой. Предусмотрена защита акустики и режим Direct, в котором сигнал со входа #1 подаётся в обход регулятора громкости. Это сделано для возможной интеграции усилителя в систему домашнего кино с процессором или предусилителем.

 

Уникальная конструкция обусловила и рекордную для стандартных габаритов массу – 65 кг.

 

Пока мы беседовали с Алексеем и затевали фотосессию, усилитель работал в фоновом режиме на нескольких выходных ваттах. Если бы я к тому времени уже не был знаком с его концепцией, наверняка решил бы, что играет ламповый однотактник классом не ниже Audio Note пятого уровня — легко, прозрачно, детально и очень певуче. Безусловно, у «Белого Рыцаря» нет пресловутой проблемы первого ватта, и это при том, что в связке с 4-омными системами ProAc Carbon Pro 8 он может выдать до 360 Вт. Заинтригованный, несколько раз менял громкость, но она влияла лишь на динамический диапазон, а картинка стояла как влитая, со всеми штрихами и нюансами. Вот ради интереса, по ходу воспроизведения покрутите ручку громкости своего усилителя, и почти наверняка начиная с какой-то отметки заметите, что начинают пропадать послезвучия и мелкие детали, из-за чего звучание становится каким-то схематичным и плоским. Если это не так, значит, вы выбрали очень правильный усилитель.

 

«Безусловно, у «Белого Рыцаря» нет пресловутой проблемы первого ватта, и это при том, что в связке с 4-омными системами ProAc Carbon Pro 8 он может выдать до 360 Вт.»

 

Теперь выводим систему на оптимальную для прослушивания мощность – слегка не добирая до дискомфорта от чрезмерного звукового давления. И, должен сказать, кроме общей динамики, мало что изменилось. Детальность и певучесть сохранилась, и не появилось никакой агрессии в верхнем диапазоне — при том, что ленточные твитеры безжалостно выявляют даже малейшие искажения.

Запас драйва у «Рыцаря» поистине богатырский – электронный бас он передаёт так, что диффузоры в реально начинают прокачивать помещение. Причём усилитель не акцентирует внимание на нижнем регистре, а за счёт него расширяет звуковую сцену, придаёт ей глубину.

 

«Переходы от piano к forte, от мёртвой паузы к пиковой амплитуде настолько естественны, что некоторые камерные записи почти не отличаются от живого звучания.»

 

Некоторые аудиофилы утверждают, что трансформаторная связь между каскадами лучше передаёт энергетику, драйв исполнителей, и в данном случае я готов с ними согласиться. Переходы от piano к forte, от мёртвой паузы к пиковой амплитуде настолько естественны, что некоторые камерные записи почти не отличаются от живого звучания. Да, на большой громкости и сложных фонограммах есть признаки лёгкой интермодуляции в верхней середине, но это, пожалуй, единственный замеченный мною минус. В целом же спектр инструментов, как акустических, так и сэмплированных, передаётся на редкость аккуратно и достоверно.

Построение сцены в нашем случае зависело исключительно от дисперсии акустических систем и их взаимодействия с комнатой прослушивания. Сам усилитель в этом отношении инструментально точен, и предоставляет своей свите полную свободу в формировании и расположении звуковых образов.

 

 

СИСТЕМА

 

CD-проигрыватель Naim CD5х

Акустические системы ProAc Carbon Pro 8

Кабели:

— межблочные, акустические S.A.Lab

— сетевые Groneberg Quattro Reference

Сетевой разветвитель Groneberg Quattro Reference Power Center 5

 

МУЗЫКА

 

«Tutti! Orchestral Sampler». HDCD Reference Recordings, 1997. 24-битовая запись

Pink Floyd, «Division Bell». EMI/Pink Floyd Music 1994

The Manhattan Transfer, «Tonin’». Atlantic, 1994

Eleanor McEvoy, «Oh Uganda». Mosco Disk, 2008

 

 

S.A.Lab White Knight

 

Производитель: S.A.Lab (Россия)

 

salaboratory.com

 

Входы: 3 х RCA || Входное сопротивление: 10 кОм || Выходная мощность (1 кГц): 2 х 180 Вт (4 Ома), 2 х 90 Вт (8 Ом) || Входная чувствительность: 0, 707 В || Искажения (50% мощности): 0,03 % || Отношение сигнал/шум (не взвешенное): -106 дБ || Диапазон усиливаемых частот (при неравномерности +/-0,1дБ): 20 Гц – 34 кГц || Потребляемая мощность: 410 ВА || Габариты: 190 х 460 х 460 мм || Масса: 65 кг || Гарантия: 2 года || Цена: 480000 руб.

Где купить?

FAQ

© Copyright by Gotomedia